English Français

Whakarua Moutere (North East Islands)

Date de soumission : 30/03/2007
Critères: (vii)(viii)(ix)(x)
Catégorie : Naturel
Soumis par :
Department of Conservation
État, province ou région :

Northland to Bay of Plenty

Ref.: 5126

Le Secrétariat de l’UNESCO et le Centre du patrimoine mondial ne garantissent pas l’exactitude et la fiabilité des avis, opinions, déclarations et autres informations ou documentations fournis au Secrétariat de l’UNESCO et au Centre du patrimoine mondial par les États Parties à la Convention concernant la protection du patrimoine mondial, culturel et naturel.

La publication de tels avis, opinions, déclarations, informations ou documentations sur le site internet et/ou dans les documents de travail du Centre du patrimoine mondial n’implique nullement l’expression d’une quelconque opinion de la part du Secrétariat de l’UNESCO ou du Centre du patrimoine mondial concernant le statut juridique de tout pays, territoire, ville ou région, ou de leurs autorités, ou le tracé de leurs frontières.

Les noms des biens figurent dans la langue dans laquelle les États parties les ont soumis.


Whakarua Moutere (or the North-East Islands) is a serial site of nine locations (eight of them island groups) extending along the northeastern coastline of the North Island. The northernmost cluster is the Three Kings Islands (latitude 34º 10' S) 60 km NW off Cape Reinga; the southermost is the Aldermen Islands (36º 58' S) 20 km off the eastern coast of the Coromandel Peninsula.

The nine clusters in the site are:

  • Three Kings Islands/Manawatawhi;
  • Te Paki and North Cape Reserves;
  • Poor Knights Islands;
  • Hen and Chickens Islands;
  • Mokohinau Islands;
  • Hauturu/Little Barrier Island;
  • Cuvier Island;
  • Red Mercury and lesser Mercury Islands; and
  • Aldermen Islands

Déclarations d’authenticité et/ou d’intégrité

Most of the islands have the highest level of terrestrial legal protection available (Nature Reserves or Wildlife Sanctuaries). This level of protection equates with IUCN's category 1a protected area. All sites are strictly managed by the Department of Conservation.

In the longer term however, consideration should be given to extending the site by:

(a) adding Mayor Island (Tuhua) which has outstanding geological features and landforms.

(b) adding Ohinau Island, the privately-owned Murimotu Island off North Cape, and some of the smaller privately-owned islands in the Cavalli Islands group; and

(c) including marine protected areas which may eventually be formed around the island clusters (or Te Paki/North Cape).

Only two of the island groups currently have marine reserves in their surrounding seas. The seas around the Three Kings Islands, the benthic communities of Spirits Bay and Tom Bowling Bay, Parengarenga Harbour, and the rock wall and fish communities of the Poor Knights Islands are outstanding marine ecosystems with high levels of species diversity and endemism. An outstanding feature of these marine environments is their relatively unmodified nature, with high water clarity arising from low levels of human-induced sedimentation.

All the Whakarua Moutere islands have prime conservation functions as ‘sanctuary islands' where species threatened on the mainland can recover.