English Français

States Parties
Ratification Status

States to the Convention as of 09-Jun-2016
State Party Date Type of instrument
Angola Angola 1991-11-0707/11/1991 R
Benin Benin 1982-06-1414/06/1982 R
Botswana Botswana 1998-11-2323/11/1998 Ac
Burkina Faso Burkina Faso 1987-04-0202/04/1987 R
Burundi Burundi 1982-05-1919/05/1982 R
Cabo Verde Cabo Verde 2 1988-04-2828/04/1988 Ac
Cameroon Cameroon 1982-12-0707/12/1982 R
Central African Republic Central African Republic 1980-12-2222/12/1980 R
Chad Chad 1999-06-2323/06/1999 R
Comoros Comoros 2000-09-2727/09/2000 R
Congo Congo 1987-12-1010/12/1987 R
Côte d'Ivoire Côte d'Ivoire 1981-01-0909/01/1981 R
Democratic Republic of the Congo Democratic Republic of the Congo 1974-09-2323/09/1974 R
Djibouti Djibouti 2007-08-3030/08/2007 R
Equatorial Guinea Equatorial Guinea 2010-03-1010/03/2010 R
Eritrea Eritrea 2001-10-2424/10/2001 Ac
Eswatini Eswatini 3 2005-11-3030/11/2005 R
Ethiopia Ethiopia 1977-07-0606/07/1977 R
Gabon Gabon 1986-12-3030/12/1986 R
Gambia (the) Gambia (the) 1987-07-0101/07/1987 R
Ghana Ghana 1975-07-0404/07/1975 R
Guinea Guinea 1979-03-1818/03/1979 R
Guinea-Bissau Guinea-Bissau 2006-01-2828/01/2006 R
Kenya Kenya 1991-06-0505/06/1991 Ac
Lesotho Lesotho 2003-11-2525/11/2003 Ac
Liberia Liberia 2002-03-2828/03/2002 Ac
Madagascar Madagascar 1983-07-1919/07/1983 R
Malawi Malawi 1982-01-0505/01/1982 R
Mali Mali 1977-04-0505/04/1977 Ac
Mauritius Mauritius 1995-09-1919/09/1995 R
Mozambique Mozambique 1982-11-2727/11/1982 R
Namibia Namibia 2000-04-0606/04/2000 Ac
Niger Niger 1974-12-2323/12/1974 Ac
Nigeria Nigeria 1974-10-2323/10/1974 R
Rwanda Rwanda 2000-12-2828/12/2000 Ac
Sao Tome and Principe Sao Tome and Principe 2006-07-2525/07/2006 R
Senegal Senegal 1976-02-1313/02/1976 R
Seychelles Seychelles 1980-04-0909/04/1980 Ac
Sierra Leone Sierra Leone 2005-01-0707/01/2005 R
South Africa South Africa 1997-07-1010/07/1997 R
South Sudan South Sudan 2016-03-0909/03/2016 R
Togo Togo 1998-04-1515/04/1998 Ac
Uganda Uganda 1987-11-2020/11/1987 Ac
United Republic of Tanzania United Republic of Tanzania 1977-08-0202/08/1977 R
Zambia Zambia 1984-06-0404/06/1984 R
Zimbabwe Zimbabwe 1982-08-1616/08/1982 R

Date of deposit of ratification (R), acceptance (Ac), accession (A) or of the notification of succession (S)1


The symbol ** designates those States for whom, in accordance with Article 33, the Convention has not yet entered into force.

  1. This Convention entered into force on 17 December 1975. It subsequently entered into force for each State three months after the date of deposit of that State's instrument, except in cases of declarations of succession (indicated by the letter (S)), where the entry into force occurred on the date on which the State assumed responsibility for conducting its international relations.
  2. 25 Octobre 2013, change of country name
  3. Further to the communication dated 30 May 2018 from the permanent mission addressed to the Protocol and Liaison Service, the country name was changed from the former name of the Kingdom of Swaziland (former short form: Swaziland). Effective date: 19 April 2018.