The Government of Bahrain, newly elected member of the World Heritage Committee, will host the 42nd session of the World Heritage Committee from 24 June to 4 July 2018, in Manama, Bahrain.

The Chair of the Committee, Sheikha Haya Rashed Al Khalifa, is an international lawyer who served as Bahrain’s first female ambassador when she became Ambassador to France (1999 to 2004) and was the third woman to preside at the UN General Assembly. The Rapporteur is Anna E. Zeichner of Hungary. Azerbaijan, Brazil, China, Spain and Zimbabwe were elected as Vice-Chairs of the Committee.

During the World Heritage Committee session, the Committee reviews the state of conservation of World Heritage sites, inscribes new sites on the World Heritage List, and attends to other matters involved in the implementation of the World Heritage Convention.

The elections took place during the 21st General Assembly of the States Parties to the World Heritage Convention, held on 14 and 15 November at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris, France.

The 21 States Parties of the current World Heritage Committee are the following:

Angola, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Burkina Faso, China, Cuba, Guatemala, Hungary, Indonesia, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Norway, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Spain, Tunisia, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zimbabwe