Take advantage of the search to browse through the World Heritage Centre information.

22nd session of the General Assembly of States Parties

UNESCO, Paris 27-28 November 2019

The 22nd session of the General Assembly will be held at UNESCO Headquarters, 27-28 November 2019.

In accordance with Article 8, paragraph 1 of the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, the General Assembly of States Parties to the Convention will hold its 22nd session during the 40th session of the General Conference of UNESCO.

Resolutions adopted
by the General Assembly 

English Français

Summary Records 

English Français

to the World Heritage
Committee in 2019

27th November from 12.00 room XI, then 27th November afternoon room II and 28th November morning room II. Polling station: Room VI & VII

The General Assembly will be called upon, inter alia, to replace the outgoing members of the World Heritage Committee, in conformity with Rule 13.1 of the Rules of Procedures of the General Assembly of States Parties to the World Heritage Convention concerning the presentation of candidatures for election to the World Heritage Committee.

The following 9 States Parties will be outgoing in 2019:

Angola Azerbaijan Burkina Faso Cuba Indonesia Kuwait Tunisia United Republic of Tanzania Zimbabwe

9 States Parties were elected to the World Heritage Committee

Egypt Ethiopia Mali Nigeria Oman
Russian Federation Saudi Arabia South Africa Thailand

For information on the number of seats to be filled during the 22nd General Assembly

Candidatures Received
State Party Electoral Group Proposed duration of mandate (years) Previous mandates CVs of experts*
has withdrawn its candidature by letter dated 6 February 2019
Group Va 0
Côte d'Ivoire
has withdrawn its candidature by letter dated 30 September 2019
Group Va 0
Egypt Group Vb 4 years 4
1976-1983 1991-1997 1999-2005 2007-2011
Ethiopia Group Va 4 Years 1
Iraq Group Vb 4 Years 2
1976-1983 2009-2013
Mali Group Va 4 years 1

has withdrawn its candidature by letter dated 18 April 2019

Group III 4 years 4
1985-1991 1991-1997 1997-2003 2009-2013
Nigeria Group Va 4 years 3
1976-1980 2001-2005 2007-2011
Oman Group Vb 4 years 2
1989-1995 2001-2005
Russian Federation Group II 4 years 2
2001-2005 2009-2013
Saudi Arabia Group Vb 4 years 0
South Africa Group Va 4 years 2
1999-2005 2009-2013
Thailand Group IV 4 years 3
1989-1995 1997-2003 2009-2013

* At its 20th session (UNESCO, 2015), the General Assembly approved the following format for the experts’ CVs in the field of cultural/natural heritage.

Bureau Members

Chairperson: H.E. Mr Adam Almulla (Kuwait)
Mr Carlo Ossola (Switzerland)
Bangladesh, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Uganda

Resolutions adopted by the General Assembly of States Parties to the World Heritage Convention at its 22nd session (UNESCO, 2019)
English Français

Summary Records
English Français