Take advantage of the search to browse through the World Heritage Centre information.

Capacity Building
Credibility of the World Heritage ...
Inscriptions on the World Heritage ...
International Assistance
List of World Heritage in Danger
Operational Guidelines
Outstanding Universal Value
Periodic Reporting
Reinforced Monitoring
Tentative Lists
Working methods and tools
World Heritage Convention

Resolution 8 GA 13-17
Elections to the World Heritage Committee

13. Under item 8 of its agenda the General Assembly was called on to elect seven Members to the World Heritage Committee to replace the following seven Members who would have completed their term of office at the end of the twenty-sixth session of the General Conference: Bulgaria, Canada, Greece, India, Mexico, United Republic of Tanzania, and Yemen. The list of States Parties having submitted their candidature was read out to the Assembly. In accordance with Article 16, paragraph 5, of the Convention, the list of candidates was limited to those States Parties which had paid their contributions to the World Heritage Fund up to and including 1990. The following States Parties were declared candidates: China, Cyprus, Egypt, Finland, Germany, Kenya, Madagascar, Mexico, Philippines, Romania, Spain, Yugoslavia, Zimbabwe.

14. On the decision of the Chairman, the elections took place by secret ballot. The delegates of Oman and Peru were appointed tellers.

The results of the first ballot which were announced by the Chairman were as follows:

First Ballot

Number of States Parties voting                                                                                      117

Number of States absent                                                                                                    36

Number of abstentions                                                                                                         0

Number of invalid ballot papers                                                                                            4

Number of votes recorded                                                                                                 81

Number of votes constituting the majority required to be elected                                      41

States obtaining the required majority of votes:














The Chairman declared elected to the World Heritage Committee after the first ballot the above-mentioned States Parties.

16. In accordance with the Rules of Procedure, the second ballot was to be limited to those States which had obtained the greatest number of votes, provided that the number of States did not exceed twice the number of seats remaining to be filled. Among the remaining candidates, Cyprus and Finland obtained the greatest number of votes. A second ballot limited to these two States was held.

17. The results of the second ballot, which were announced by the Chairman, were as follows:

Second Ballot

Number of States Parties voting                                                                                     117

Number of States absent                                                                                                  54

Number of abstentions                                                                                                        0

Number of invalid ballot papers                                                                                           0

Number of votes recorded                                                                                                63

Number of votes constituting the majority required to be elected                                    32

State obtaining the required majority of votes:

Cyprus                      39

The Chairman declared Cyprus elected to the World heritage Committee after the second ballot.

Summary Record
Context of Resolution