Take advantage of the search to browse through the World Heritage Centre information.

Capacity Building
Credibility of the World Heritage ...
Inscriptions on the World Heritage ...
International Assistance
List of World Heritage in Danger
Operational Guidelines
Outstanding Universal Value
Periodic Reporting
Reinforced Monitoring
Tentative Lists
Working methods and tools
World Heritage Convention

Decision 41 COM 16
Election of the Chairperson, Vice-Chairpersons and Rapporteur of the 42nd Session of the World Heritage Committee (2018)

The World Heritage Committee,

  1. Decides to hold its 12th Extraordinary session during the 21st session of the General Assembly of States Parties to the World Heritage Convention in November 2017 in UNESCO Headquarters;
  2. Also decides to prolong the mandate of its Bureau composed of the following members:

    Chairperson:    Prof. Jacek Purchla (Poland)

    Vice-Chairpersons: Angola, Kuwait, Portugal, Peru, Republic of Korea

    Rapporteur: M. Muhammad Juma (United Republic of Tanzania)

    until its 12th Extraordinary session;

  3. Recalls that the hosting of a World Heritage Committee session by a Committee member is subject to the host country signing a host country agreement in conformity with UNESCO’s rules and regulations and that host country agreements for category II meetings must ordinarily be signed eight months in advance of the meeting but in this case at the latest by 31 December 2017;
  4. Also recalls that, pursuant to Rule 44.3 of the Rules of Procedure of the Committee, arrangements by the host country to provide interpretation in another language than the working languages of the Committee (English and French), or another official working language recognized by the United Nations, should be in compliance with UNESCO’s rules, regulations and procedures.
Decisions adopted during the 41st session of the World Heritage Committee (Krakow, 2017)