English Français

States Parties
Ratification Status

States to the Convention as of 03-Jun-2006
State Party Date Type of instrument
Albania Albania 1989-07-1010/07/1989 R
Andorra Andorra 1997-01-0303/01/1997 Ac
Armenia Armenia 1993-09-0505/09/1993 S
Austria Austria 1992-12-1818/12/1992 R
Azerbaijan Azerbaijan 1993-12-1616/12/1993 R
Belarus Belarus 1988-10-1212/10/1988 R
Belgium Belgium 1996-07-2424/07/1996 R
Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina 1993-07-1212/07/1993 S
Bulgaria Bulgaria 1974-03-0707/03/1974 Ac
Canada Canada 1976-07-2323/07/1976 Ac
Croatia Croatia 1992-07-0606/07/1992 S
Cyprus Cyprus 1975-08-1414/08/1975 Ac
Czechia Czechia 2 1993-03-2626/03/1993 S
Denmark Denmark 1979-07-2525/07/1979 R
Estonia Estonia 1995-10-2727/10/1995 R
Finland Finland 1987-03-0404/03/1987 R
France France 1975-06-2727/06/1975 Ac
Georgia Georgia 1992-11-0404/11/1992 S
Germany Germany 3 1976-08-2323/08/1976 R
Greece Greece 1981-07-1717/07/1981 R
Holy See Holy See 1982-10-0707/10/1982 A
Hungary Hungary 1985-07-1515/07/1985 Ac
Iceland Iceland 1995-12-1919/12/1995 R
Ireland Ireland 1991-09-1616/09/1991 R
Israel Israel 1999-10-0606/10/1999 Ac
Italy Italy 1978-06-2323/06/1978 R
Latvia Latvia 1995-01-1010/01/1995 Ac
Lithuania Lithuania 1992-03-3131/03/1992 Ac
Luxembourg Luxembourg 1983-09-2828/09/1983 R
Malta Malta 1978-11-1414/11/1978 Ac
Monaco Monaco 1978-11-0707/11/1978 R
Montenegro Montenegro 2006-06-0303/06/2006 S
Netherlands Netherlands 4 1992-08-2626/08/1992 Ac
North Macedonia North Macedonia 5 1997-04-3030/04/1997 S
Norway Norway 1977-05-1212/05/1977 R
Poland Poland 1976-06-2929/06/1976 R
Portugal Portugal 1980-09-3030/09/1980 R
Republic of Moldova Republic of Moldova 2002-09-2323/09/2002 R
Romania Romania 1990-05-1616/05/1990 Ac
Russian Federation Russian Federation 6 1988-10-1212/10/1988 R
San Marino San Marino 1991-10-1818/10/1991 R
Serbia Serbia 2001-09-1111/09/2001 S
Slovakia Slovakia 1993-03-3131/03/1993 S
Slovenia Slovenia 1992-11-0505/11/1992 S
Spain Spain 1982-05-0404/05/1982 Ac
Sweden Sweden 1985-01-2222/01/1985 R
Switzerland Switzerland 1975-09-1717/09/1975 R
Turkey Turkey 1983-03-1616/03/1983 R
Ukraine Ukraine 1988-10-1212/10/1988 R
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 1984-05-2929/05/1984 R
United States of America United States of America 1973-12-0707/12/1973 R

Date of deposit of ratification (R), acceptance (Ac), accession (A) or of the notification of succession (S)1


The symbol ** designates those States for whom, in accordance with Article 33, the Convention has not yet entered into force.

  1. This Convention entered into force on 17 December 1975. It subsequently entered into force for each State three months after the date of deposit of that State's instrument, except in cases of declarations of succession (indicated by the letter (S)), where the entry into force occurred on the date on which the State assumed responsibility for conducting its international relations.
  2. Effective date for the short official name: 17 May 2016; Pronunciation: "CHECK-iya"
  3. Through the accession of the German Democratic Republic to the Basic Law of the Federal Republic of Germany, with effect from 3 October 1990, the two German States have united to form one Sovereign State. The Contracting Parties to the Unification Treaty "have agreed that the treaties and agreements to which the Federal Republic of Germany is a contracting party ... remain in force and that their respective rights and obligations ... be applied" to the whole territory of Germany. The German Democratic Republic acceeded to this Convention on 12 December 1988.
  4. With an extension to Curaçao.
  5. Further to the communication dated 14 February 2019 from the permanent mission addressed to the Protocol and Liaison Service in line with the Final Agreement for the Settlement of the Differences as Described in the United Nations Security Council Resolutions 817 (1993) and 845 (1993), the Termination of the Interim Accord of 1995, and the Establishment of a Strategic Partnership between the Parties. Effective date: 14 February 2019.
  6. The instrument of ratification was deposited by the U.S.S.R., on 12 October 1988.