Sites in Latin America and Germany inscribed on World Heritage List

Qhapaq Ñan, Andean Road System © Instituto Nacional de Antropología y Pensamiento Latinoamericano, Secretaría de Cultura de la Nacion Argentina | Sergio Caletti
Saturday, 21 June 2014 at 19:00
access_time 3 min read

Doha, 21 June – The World Heritage Committee, meeting in Doha (Qatar) under the Chair of Sheikha Al Mayassa Bint Hamad Bin Khalifa Al Thani, this afternoon inscribed two new cultural sites and one mixed natural and cultural site on the World Heritage List. They include Qhapac Ñan, Latin America’s first serial property, crossing six countries across the continent.

The new properties are:   

Qhapac Ñan, Andean Road System (Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia,  Ecuador, Peru) is an extensive Inca communication, trade and defense network of roads covering 30,000 kilometres. Constructed by the Incas over several centuries and partly based on pre-Inca infrastructure, this extraordinary network through one of the world’s most extreme geographical terrains, linked the snow-capped peaks of the Andes – at an altitude of more than 6,000 metres – to the coast, running through hot rainforests, fertile valleys and absolute deserts. It reached its maximum expansion in the 15th century, when it spread across the length and breadth of the Andes. The Qhapac Ñan  Andean Road System  includes 273 component sites, spreading over  more than 6,000 kilometres.  They were selected to highlight the social, political, architectural and engineering achievements of the network, along with its associated infrastructure for trade, accommodation and storage, and  sites of religious significance.

Ancient Maya City and Protected Tropical Forests of Calakmul, Campeche (Mexico), is a renomination and extension of the existing 3,000 ha cultural World Heritage property, Ancient Maya City of Calakmul, Campeche. It now becomes mixed natural and cultural property. The site is located in the central/southern portion of the Yucatan Peninsula, in southern Mexico and includes the remains of the important Maya city Calakmul,  set deep in the tropical forest of the Tierras Bajas. The city played a key role in the history of this region for more than 12 centuries and is characterized by well-preserved structures providing a vivid picture of life in an ancient Maya capital. The property also falls within the Mesoamerica biodiversity hotspot. This hotspot is the third largest in the world and encompasses all subtropical and tropical ecosystems from central Mexico to the Panama Canal.

Carolingian Westwork and Civitas Corvey (Germany) are located  along the Weser River on the outskirts of Höxter where they were erected between 822 and 885 A.D. in a largely preserved rural setting. The Westwork is the only standing structure that dates back to the Carolingian era, while the original imperial abbey complex is preserved as archaeological remains which are only partially excavated. The Westwork of Corvey uniquely illustrates one of the most important Carolingian architectural expressions. It is a genuine creation of this period, and its architectural articulation and decoration clearly illustrate the role played within the Frankish empire by imperial monasteries in securing territorial control, administration, as well as the propagation of Christianity and of the Carolingian cultural and political order throughout Europe.

With this afternoon’s inscriptions, the total number of sites on the World Heritage List has climbed to 988. The 38th session of the World Heritage Committee began on 15 June and will continue through to 25 June.

UNESCO Media Contact in Doha
Sue Williams,
+33(0)6 15 92 93 62 or +974 503 16609

Follow @UNESCO on Twitter using the hashtag #WorldHeritage

Follow us on Facebook

Saturday, 21 June 2014 at 19:00
access_time 3 min read