Decision : CONF 004 IX.A
Inscription: Jesuit Missions of the Guaranis (Argentina)

Jesuit Missions of the Guaranis 




Under this name, the Committee decided to include jointly in the World Heritage List, along with Sao Miguel das Missoes, in Brazil (which is already included), the four missions nominated by Argentina, i.e. San Ignacio Mini, Santa Ana, Nuestra Senora de Loreto and Santa Maria la Mayor. It considered it would be desirable that certain missions located in Paraguay and Uruguay also be included in the World Heritage List, so that the whole group of monuments might provide a representative illustration of the Jesuit missions of the Guaranis. The Committee took this opportunity to invite the governments of Paraguay and of Uruguay to adhere to the World Heritage Convention. In addition, the Committee drew the attention of the authorities concerned to the necessity of protecting the surroundings of the missions.


 Decisions Report
Context of Decision
Themes: Inscriptions on the World Heritage List
Year: 1984
Decision Code: CONF 004 IX.A