Route of the Peace and National Identity

Date of Submission: 23/09/2002
Criteria: (iv)(vi)
Category: Cultural
Submitted by:
Ministry of Culture and Sports
Coordinates: Central and Eastern region of Guatemala
Ref.: 1760

The Tentative Lists of States Parties are published by the World Heritage Centre at its website and/or in working documents in order to ensure transparency, access to information and to facilitate harmonization of Tentative Lists at regional and thematic levels.

The sole responsibility for the content of each Tentative List lies with the State Party concerned. The publication of the Tentative Lists does not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever of the World Heritage Committee or of the World Heritage Centre or of the Secretariat of UNESCO concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its boundaries.

Property names are listed in the language in which they have been submitted by the State Party


It comprends an architectural legacy classified as cultural Heritage that includes the three bigger churches of Guatemala and a temple in passing. The Route is integrated for: The Metropolitan Cathedral, the church of Nuestra Señora de la Merced, the smaller Basilica of Esquipulas and San Agustín Acasaguatlán's temple. These buildings were built during the time of Spanish dominance (1524-1821), and they preserve images and other artistic elements that constitute the symbols of the Guatemalan national unit at the moment.