English Français

States Parties
Ratification Status

States to the Convention as of 08-Mar-2012
State Party Date Type of instrument
Algeria Algeria 1974-06-2424/06/1974 R
Bahrain Bahrain 1991-05-2828/05/1991 R
Egypt Egypt 1974-02-0707/02/1974 R
Iraq Iraq 1974-03-0505/03/1974 Ac
Jordan Jordan 1975-05-0505/05/1975 R
Kuwait Kuwait 2002-06-0606/06/2002 R
Lebanon Lebanon 1983-02-0303/02/1983 R
Libya Libya 2 1978-10-1313/10/1978 R
Mauritania Mauritania 1981-03-0202/03/1981 R
Morocco Morocco 1975-10-2828/10/1975 R
Oman Oman 1981-10-0606/10/1981 Ac
Palestine Palestine 2011-12-0808/12/2011 R
Qatar Qatar 1984-09-1212/09/1984 Ac
Saudi Arabia Saudi Arabia 1978-08-0707/08/1978 Ac
Sudan Sudan 1974-06-0606/06/1974 R
Syrian Arab Republic Syrian Arab Republic 1975-08-1313/08/1975 Ac
Tunisia Tunisia 1975-03-1010/03/1975 R
United Arab Emirates United Arab Emirates 2001-05-1111/05/2001 A
Yemen Yemen 3 1980-10-0707/10/1980 R

Date of deposit of ratification (R), acceptance (Ac), accession (A) or of the notification of succession (S)1


The symbol ** designates those States for whom, in accordance with Article 33, the Convention has not yet entered into force.

  1. This Convention entered into force on 17 December 1975. It subsequently entered into force for each State three months after the date of deposit of that State's instrument, except in cases of declarations of succession (indicated by the letter (S)), where the entry into force occurred on the date on which the State assumed responsibility for conducting its international relations.
  2. On 16 September 2011, the National Transitional Council requested, via the Protocol and Liaison Service, that the form "Libya", previously not in use at the UN, replace both the earlier official and short forms (respectively, the Socialist People's Libyan Arab Jamahiriya and Libyan Arab Jamahiriya (the)).
  3. The unification of the Yemen Arab Republic and the People's Democratic Republic of Yemen into a single Sovereign State, the Republic of Yemen, was proclaimed on 22 May 1990.