Take advantage of the search to browse through the World Heritage Centre information.

Capacity Building
Credibility of the World Heritage ...
Inscriptions on the World Heritage ...
International Assistance
List of World Heritage in Danger
Operational Guidelines
Outstanding Universal Value
Periodic Reporting
Reinforced Monitoring
Tentative Lists
Working methods and tools
World Heritage Convention

Resolution 5 GA 12-16
Elections to the World Heritage Committee

12. The General Assembly was called on to elect 7 Members of the World Heritage Committee to replace the following 7 Members whose term of office was due to expire at the end of the 23rd Session of the General Conference : Argentina, France, Italy, Pakistan, Panama, Senegal and Switzerland.

13. The list of States Parties which had submitted their candidature was read out before the Assembly. The candidatures of Argentina and Costa Rica were withdrawn in favour of Ecuador and Mexico and that of Egypt in favour of Yemen. In conformity with article 16, paragraph 5 of the Convention, the list of candidates was limited to those States which had paid their contributions to the World Heritage Fund up to and including for 1984. The following States Parties remained candidates: Afghanistan, Bulgaria, Canada, Ecuador, France, Greece, India, Italy, Mexico, Nepal, Poland, Portugal, Spain, United Republic of Tanzania, Yemen and Yugoslavia.

14. On the decision of the Chairman the elections took place by secret ballot. The delegates of Ivory Coast and Saudi Arabia were appointed tellers.

15. The results of the vote which were announced by the Chairman were as follows :

First ballot

Number of States Parties present and voting                                                        68

Number of invalid ballot papers                                                                               0

Number of votes recorded                                                                                    68

Number of votes constituting a majority                                                                35

States obtaining the required majority of votes

India                                                           49

Canada                                                      47

Yemen                                                       44

Mexico                                                       39

United Rep. of Tanzania                            38

Greece                                                      36

The Chairman declared elected to the World Heritage Committee after the first ballot the following States Parties: Canada, Greece, India, Mexico, United Republic of Tanzania and Yemen.

16. In accordance with the Rules of procedure, the second ballot was to be limited to those states which had obtained the greatest number of votes provided that the number of States did not exceed twice the number of the seats remaining to be filled. Among the remaining candidates, Bulgaria and France had obtained the greatest number of votes, receiving each 25 votes. A second ballot limited to these two States was to be held. However, France withdrew in favour of Bulgaria which was declared elected to the World Heritage Committee.

Summary Record
Context of Resolution