## UNITED NATIONS EDUCATIONAL,

## SCIENTIFIC AND CULTURAL ORGANIZATION

### CONVENTION CONCERNING THE PROTECTION

### OF THE WORLD CULTURAL AND NATURAL HERITAGE

#### Bureau of the World Heritage Committee

#### Tenth Session

#### Unesco Headquarters, Paris 16-19 June 1986

## Item 11 of the provisional agenda: ways of ensuring a better turnover in the membership of the World Heritage Committee

1. At its ninth session the World Heritage Committee requested the Bureau to look at ways of ensuring a better turnover in the membership of States Parties on the Committee. A suggestion made during the discussion of this question was that States should limit their membership of the Committee to one or two successive terms of office.

2. It should first be recalled that the Convention itself contains no provision concerning the number of terms of office for which a state can be elected to the Committee. Furthermore, the Rules of Procedure adopted by the Second General Assembly of States Parties in 1978 and followed by all General Assemblies since, similarly make no reference to this question.

3. The Secretariat has sought information on the rules followed in certain other intergovernmental committees which have been established for several years. Below are details on the length of the term of office and the rule on re-eligibility followed in six intergovernmental committees:

#### Intergovernmental Copyright Committee

Length of term of office : Re-eligibility : 6 years

: "At least one-third, but not more than two-thirds of the States proposed on the list  $\angle of$  candidates? shall be States that are not members of the Committee at the date of the elections". (Rule 47.2 of the Rules of Procedure of the Committee) International Co-ordinating Council of the Programme on Man and the Biosphere

Length of term of office: Re-eligibility : 2 years :no limit on the number of terms of office

Executive Council of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission

Length of term of office Re-eligibility : normally 2 years

: no limit on the number of terms of office

Intergovernmental Council of the International Hydrological Programme

Length of term of office Re-eligibility :4 years

: no limit on the number of terms of office

Intergovernmental Council for the General Information Programme

Length of term of office Re-eligibility : 4 years

: no limit on the number of terms of office

#### Intergovernmental Committee for Physical Education and Sport

Length of term of office Re-eligibility : 4 years : no limit on the number of terms of office

4. Attached in Annex I is the list of States which have so far been elected to the World Heritage Committee, with indications on the number and length of their terms of office. It will be recalled, in this connection, that whereas the length of the term of office of members of the Committee is normally six years, ten members elected in 1976 (at the first General Assembly) and four members elected in 1978 (at the second General Assembly when the number of States members increased from 15 to 21) had reduced terms of office.

5. If it were considered desirable to introduce a rule on re-election to the Committee, an amendment would have to be made to the Rules of Procedure of the General Assembly of States Parties to the Convention. In accordance with Rule 16, the Assembly may amend the Rules of Procedure "by a decision taken in plenary meeting by a two-thirds majority of the representatives of States present and voting".

State Party	Years	
Algeria	1978-1980	1983-1989
Argentina	1978-1985	
Australia	1976-1983	1983-1989
Brazil	1980-1987	
Bulgaria	1978-1983	1985-1991
Canada	1976-1978	1985-1989
Cyprus	1980-1987	91
Egypt	1976-1983	
Ecuador	1976-1980	
France	1976-1978	1978-1985
Fed. Rep. of Germany	1976-1978	1980-1987
Ghana	1976-1980	
Greece	1985-1991	
Guinea	1980-1987	
India	1985-1991	
Iran (Islamic Republic of)	1976-1980	
Iraq	1976-1983	
Italy	1978-1985	
Jordan	1980-1987	
Lebanon	1983-1989	
Libyan Arab Jamahiriya	1980-1987	
Malawi	1983-1989	
Mexico	1985-1991	
Nepal	1978-1983	
Nigeria	1976-1980	
Norway	1983-1989	
Pakistan	1978-1985	
Panama	1978-1985	
Poland	1976–1978	
Senegal	1976-1978	1978-1985
Sudan	1978-1980	
Sri Lanka	1983-1989	

## Terms of office of the Members of the World Heritage Committee

# <u>State Party</u>

# Years

Switzerland	1978-1985
Tunisia	1976-1983
Turkey	1983-1989
United Republic of Tanzania	1985-1989 91
United States of America	1976-1983
Yemen	1985-1991
Yugoslavia	1976-1980
Zaire	1980-1987