World Heritage

23 COM

Distribution limited

WHC-99/CONF.209/INF.4 Paris, 19 November 1999 Original: English/ French

UNITED NATIONS EDUCATIONAL, SCIENTIFIC AND CULTURAL ORGANIZATION

CONVENTION CONCERNING THE PROTECTION OF THE WORLD CULTURAL AND NATURAL HERITAGE

WORLD HERITAGE COMMITTEE

Twenty-third session Marrakesh, Morocco 29 November – 4 December 1999

Composition of the World Heritage Committee, 1999 - 2001

AUSTRALIA	ECUADOR	MEXICO
BELGIUM	EGYPT	MOROCCO
BENIN	FINLAND	PORTUGAL
CANADA	GREECE	REPUBLIC OF KOREA
CHINA	HUNGARY	SOUTH AFRICA
COLOMBIA	ITALY	THAILAND
CUBA	MALTA	ZIMBABWE

The above twenty-one members of the Committee were elected by the General Assembly of States Parties to the Convention at its tenth, eleventh and twelfth sessions held on 2 and 3 November 1995, 27 and 28 October 1997 and 28 and 29 October 1999.

Their terms of office extend as follows:

- until the end of the 31st session of the General Conference of UNESCO (2001): Australia, Benin, Canada, Cuba, Ecuador, Malta, Morocco.
- until the end of the 32nd session of the General Conference of UNESCO (2003): Finland, Greece, Hungary, Mexico, Republic of Korea, Thailand, Zimbabwe.
- until the end of the 33rd session of the General Conference of UNESCO (2005): Belgium, China, Colombia, Egypt, Italy, Portugal, South Africa.