Distribution limited

CC-80/CONF. 018/4 Paris, 12 September 1980

UNITED NATIONS EDUCATIONAL SCIENTIFIC AND CULTURAL ORGANIZATION

THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF STATES PARTIES TO THE CONVENTION CONCERNING THE FROTECTION OF THE WORLD CULTURAL AND NATURAL HERITAGE

Belgrade (Yugoslavia)

7 October 1980

Item 7 of the Provisional Agenda : Elections to the World Heritage Committee

1. As at the end of the 20th session of the General Conference, the World Heritage Committee was composed of the following twenty-one States Parties :

Algeria Argentina Australia Bulgaria Ecuador Egypte France

Iran Irak Italy Nepal Nigeria Pakistan

Ghana

Fanama Senegal Sudan Switzerland Tunisia United States of America Yugoslavia

2. The terms of office of the above-mentioned twenty-one members extend as follows :

- until the end of the 21st session of the General Conference of Unesco (1980)
 Algeria, Ecuador, Ghana, Iran, Nigeria, Sudan, Yugoslavia;
- until the end of the 22nd session of the General Conference of Unesco (1983):
 Australia, Bulgaria, Egypt, Iraq, Nepal, Tunisia, United States of America;
- until the end of the 23rd session of the General Conference of Unesco (1985) :
 Argentina, France, Italy, Pakistan, Panama, Senegal, Switzerland.

3. The third General Assembly is called upon to elect seven members to the World Heritage Committee to replace those members whose term of office expires at the end of the 21st session of the General Conference.

4. In this connection, it will be recalled that paragraph 5 of Article 16 of the Convention provides that "any State party to the Convention which is in arrears with the payment of its cumpulsory or voluntary contribution for the current year and the calendar year immediately preceding it shall not be eligible as a Hember of the World Heritage Committee.... The terms of office of any such State which is already a member of the Committee shall terminate at the time of the elections provided for in Article 8, paragraph 1 of / the / Convention". From document CC-80/CONF.0I8/2 Annex II, which contains details on the compulsory and voluntary contributions received from States Farties, it will be seen that the following States have not paid their compulsory or voluntary contribution to the World Heritage Fund for 1979 or 1980 as at 31 July 1980 :

Afghanistan	Honduras
Australia	Iran
Bolivia	Iraq
Brazil	Jo r dan
Costa Rica	Mali
Ghana	Nigeria
Guyana	Senegal +
	Sudan

- * The term of office of <u>Australia</u> on the Committee extends until the end of the 22nd session of the General Conference.
- ** The term of office of <u>Senegal</u> on the Committee extends until the end of the 23rd session of the General Conference.

5. As at 4 SEptember 1980, the following States Parties have submitted their candidature for the World Heritage Committee :

Canada Federal Republic of Germany Socialist People's Lybian Arab Jamhiriya Zaïre.