Founded in 1619 on the left bank of the Yenissey as a fortress, it facilitated the expansion of the Russians to the East. The location of the town on the crossroads of the most important rivers, as a fertile region, rich in game, fish, iron ore and salt, told favorably on the development of the town. Yenisseisk reminded the biggest city of East Siberia till the end of the 18~ century. Due to its favorable location between the rivers Kjem and Angara which were convenient waterways via the Ob and the Yenissey from the European part of Russia to East Siberia and further on to the China, Yenisseisk became a very important center of farming, shipping and trade. At the beginning of the XIX century Yenisseisk was on the list of the ten best provincial cities of Russia and was one of the most beautiful cities of Siberia. The city's view was picturesque - two white stone monasteries and ten churches among the green of the gardens. Not once did Yenisseisk live the times of prosperity and decay. Up to our days it preserved the image of an old town, though it suffered irretrievable losses. The general view of the city is determined by the architecture of the 18-19~ centuries. Its most remarkable sight is the Spasso-Preobrazhenski Monastery. Alongside with a small number of old churches of Tobolsk, Tomsk, Irkutsk this monastery can be regarded as the initial step in stone construction in Siberia.