Mt. Chilbo

Democratic People's Republic of Korea
Date of Submission: 25/05/2000
Criteria: (vii)(viii)(ix)
Category: Natural
Submitted by:
Korean Cultural Relics Publishing House
Coordinates: Myongchon County, North Hamgyong Province41°03' N / 129°36' E
Ref.: 1427


Mt. Chilbo consists of multifarious figures of rocks formed by the long time erosion of various eruptive rocks pertaining to the Paekdu Volcanic Zone.

Mt. Chilbo is divided into 3 areas; Inner Chilbo, Outer Chilbo and Sea Chilbo. Curious rocks forming part of Inner Chilbo have the harmonious, introspective characteristics, while the peaks and rocks in Outer Chilbo has the magnificent, brisk features. And the beautiful scenery of the curious rocks in Sea Chilbo, stretched out for 40 kilometers from Musudan to Orangdan, throw the visitors in a trance.

Mt. Chilbo shelters some 750 species of plants, 20 species of animals, 40 species of birds and 10 species of reptiles, among which there are 11 natural monuments of national value designated and protected at the national level.