States Parties: Ratification Status

States to the Convention as of Jun 10, 2010
State Party Date Type of instrument
Angola Angola {ts '1991-11-07 00:00:00'}07/11/1991 R
Benin Benin {ts '1982-06-14 00:00:00'}14/06/1982 R
Botswana Botswana {ts '1998-11-23 00:00:00'}23/11/1998 Ac
Burkina Faso Burkina Faso {ts '1987-04-02 00:00:00'}02/04/1987 R
Burundi Burundi {ts '1982-05-19 00:00:00'}19/05/1982 R
Cabo Verde Cabo Verde 2 {ts '1988-04-28 00:00:00'}28/04/1988 Ac
Cameroon Cameroon {ts '1982-12-07 00:00:00'}07/12/1982 R
Central African Republic Central African Republic {ts '1980-12-22 00:00:00'}22/12/1980 R
Chad Chad {ts '1999-06-23 00:00:00'}23/06/1999 R
Comoros Comoros {ts '2000-09-27 00:00:00'}27/09/2000 R
Congo Congo {ts '1987-12-10 00:00:00'}10/12/1987 R
Côte d'Ivoire Côte d'Ivoire {ts '1981-01-09 00:00:00'}09/01/1981 R
Democratic Republic of the Congo Democratic Republic of the Congo {ts '1974-09-23 00:00:00'}23/09/1974 R
Djibouti Djibouti {ts '2007-08-30 00:00:00'}30/08/2007 R
Equatorial Guinea Equatorial Guinea {ts '2010-03-10 00:00:00'}10/03/2010 R
Eritrea Eritrea {ts '2001-10-24 00:00:00'}24/10/2001 Ac
Ethiopia Ethiopia {ts '1977-07-06 00:00:00'}06/07/1977 R
Gabon Gabon {ts '1986-12-30 00:00:00'}30/12/1986 R
Gambia Gambia {ts '1987-07-01 00:00:00'}01/07/1987 R
Ghana Ghana {ts '1975-07-04 00:00:00'}04/07/1975 R
Guinea Guinea {ts '1979-03-18 00:00:00'}18/03/1979 R
Guinea-Bissau Guinea-Bissau {ts '2006-01-28 00:00:00'}28/01/2006 R
Kenya Kenya {ts '1991-06-05 00:00:00'}05/06/1991 Ac
Lesotho Lesotho {ts '2003-11-25 00:00:00'}25/11/2003 Ac
Liberia Liberia {ts '2002-03-28 00:00:00'}28/03/2002 Ac
Madagascar Madagascar {ts '1983-07-19 00:00:00'}19/07/1983 R
Malawi Malawi {ts '1982-01-05 00:00:00'}05/01/1982 R
Mali Mali {ts '1977-04-05 00:00:00'}05/04/1977 Ac
Mauritius Mauritius {ts '1995-09-19 00:00:00'}19/09/1995 R
Mozambique Mozambique {ts '1982-11-27 00:00:00'}27/11/1982 R
Namibia Namibia {ts '2000-04-06 00:00:00'}06/04/2000 Ac
Niger Niger {ts '1974-12-23 00:00:00'}23/12/1974 Ac
Nigeria Nigeria {ts '1974-10-23 00:00:00'}23/10/1974 R
Rwanda Rwanda {ts '2000-12-28 00:00:00'}28/12/2000 Ac
Sao Tome and Principe Sao Tome and Principe {ts '2006-07-25 00:00:00'}25/07/2006 R
Senegal Senegal {ts '1976-02-13 00:00:00'}13/02/1976 R
Seychelles Seychelles {ts '1980-04-09 00:00:00'}09/04/1980 Ac
Sierra Leone Sierra Leone {ts '2005-01-07 00:00:00'}07/01/2005 R
South Africa South Africa {ts '1997-07-10 00:00:00'}10/07/1997 R
Swaziland Swaziland {ts '2005-11-30 00:00:00'}30/11/2005 R
Togo Togo {ts '1998-04-15 00:00:00'}15/04/1998 Ac
Uganda Uganda {ts '1987-11-20 00:00:00'}20/11/1987 Ac
United Republic of Tanzania United Republic of Tanzania {ts '1977-08-02 00:00:00'}02/08/1977 R
Zambia Zambia {ts '1984-06-04 00:00:00'}04/06/1984 R
Zimbabwe Zimbabwe {ts '1982-08-16 00:00:00'}16/08/1982 R

Date of deposit of ratification (R), acceptance (Ac), accession (A) or of the notification of succession (S)1


The symbol ** designates those States for whom, in accordance with Article 33, the Convention has not yet entered into force.

  1. This Convention entered into force on 17 December 1975. It subsequently entered into force for each State three months after the date of deposit of that State's instrument, except in cases of declarations of succession (indicated by the letter (S)), where the entry into force occurred on the date on which the State assumed responsibility for conducting its international relations.
  2. 25 Octobre 2013, change of country name

States Parties are countries which have adhered to the World Heritage Convention.They thereby agree to identify and nominate properties on their national territory to be considered for inscription on the World Heritage List. When a State Party nominates a property, it gives details of how a property is protected and provides a management plan for its upkeep. States Parties are also expected to protect the World Heritage values of the properties inscribed and are encouraged to report periodically on their condition.