States Parties: Ratification Status

States to the Convention as of Sep 19, 2012
State Party Date Type of instrument
Afghanistan Afghanistan {ts '1979-03-20 00:00:00'}20/03/1979 R
Australia Australia {ts '1974-08-22 00:00:00'}22/08/1974 R
Bangladesh Bangladesh {ts '1983-08-03 00:00:00'}03/08/1983 Ac
Bhutan Bhutan {ts '2001-10-22 00:00:00'}22/10/2001 R
Brunei Darussalam Brunei Darussalam {ts '2011-08-12 00:00:00'}12/08/2011 R
Cambodia Cambodia {ts '1991-11-28 00:00:00'}28/11/1991 Ac
China China {ts '1985-12-12 00:00:00'}12/12/1985 R
Cook Islands Cook Islands {ts '2009-01-16 00:00:00'}16/01/2009 R
Democratic People's Republic of Korea Democratic People's Republic of Korea {ts '1998-07-21 00:00:00'}21/07/1998 Ac
Fiji Fiji {ts '1990-11-21 00:00:00'}21/11/1990 R
India India {ts '1977-11-14 00:00:00'}14/11/1977 R
Indonesia Indonesia {ts '1989-07-06 00:00:00'}06/07/1989 Ac
Iran (Islamic Republic of) Iran (Islamic Republic of) {ts '1975-02-26 00:00:00'}26/02/1975 Ac
Japan Japan {ts '1992-06-30 00:00:00'}30/06/1992 Ac
Kazakhstan Kazakhstan {ts '1994-04-29 00:00:00'}29/04/1994 Ac
Kiribati Kiribati {ts '2000-05-12 00:00:00'}12/05/2000 Ac
Kyrgyzstan Kyrgyzstan {ts '1995-07-03 00:00:00'}03/07/1995 Ac
Lao People's Democratic Republic Lao People's Democratic Republic {ts '1987-03-20 00:00:00'}20/03/1987 R
Malaysia Malaysia {ts '1988-12-07 00:00:00'}07/12/1988 R
Maldives Maldives {ts '1986-05-22 00:00:00'}22/05/1986 Ac
Marshall Islands Marshall Islands {ts '2002-04-24 00:00:00'}24/04/2002 Ac
Micronesia (Federated States of) Micronesia (Federated States of) {ts '2002-07-22 00:00:00'}22/07/2002 Ac
Mongolia Mongolia {ts '1990-02-02 00:00:00'}02/02/1990 Ac
Myanmar Myanmar {ts '1994-04-29 00:00:00'}29/04/1994 Ac
Nepal Nepal {ts '1978-06-20 00:00:00'}20/06/1978 Ac
New Zealand New Zealand {ts '1984-11-22 00:00:00'}22/11/1984 R
Niue Niue {ts '2001-01-23 00:00:00'}23/01/2001 Ac
Pakistan Pakistan {ts '1976-07-23 00:00:00'}23/07/1976 R
Palau Palau {ts '2002-06-11 00:00:00'}11/06/2002 Ac
Papua New Guinea Papua New Guinea {ts '1997-07-28 00:00:00'}28/07/1997 Ac
Philippines Philippines {ts '1985-09-19 00:00:00'}19/09/1985 R
Republic of Korea Republic of Korea {ts '1988-09-14 00:00:00'}14/09/1988 Ac
Samoa Samoa {ts '2001-08-28 00:00:00'}28/08/2001 Ac
Singapore Singapore {ts '2012-06-19 00:00:00'}19/06/2012 R
Solomon Islands Solomon Islands {ts '1992-06-10 00:00:00'}10/06/1992 A
Sri Lanka Sri Lanka {ts '1980-06-06 00:00:00'}06/06/1980 Ac
Tajikistan Tajikistan {ts '1992-08-28 00:00:00'}28/08/1992 S
Thailand Thailand {ts '1987-09-17 00:00:00'}17/09/1987 Ac
Tonga Tonga {ts '2004-04-30 00:00:00'}30/04/2004 Ac
Turkmenistan Turkmenistan {ts '1994-09-30 00:00:00'}30/09/1994 S
Uzbekistan Uzbekistan {ts '1993-01-13 00:00:00'}13/01/1993 S
Vanuatu Vanuatu {ts '2002-06-13 00:00:00'}13/06/2002 R
Viet Nam Viet Nam {ts '1987-10-19 00:00:00'}19/10/1987 Ac

Date of deposit of ratification (R), acceptance (Ac), accession (A) or of the notification of succession (S)1


The symbol ** designates those States for whom, in accordance with Article 33, the Convention has not yet entered into force.

  1. This Convention entered into force on 17 December 1975. It subsequently entered into force for each State three months after the date of deposit of that State's instrument, except in cases of declarations of succession (indicated by the letter (S)), where the entry into force occurred on the date on which the State assumed responsibility for conducting its international relations.

States Parties are countries which have adhered to the World Heritage Convention.They thereby agree to identify and nominate properties on their national territory to be considered for inscription on the World Heritage List. When a State Party nominates a property, it gives details of how a property is protected and provides a management plan for its upkeep. States Parties are also expected to protect the World Heritage values of the properties inscribed and are encouraged to report periodically on their condition.