States Parties: Ratification Status

States to the Convention as of Jun 3, 2006
State Party Date Type of instrument
Albania Albania {ts '1989-07-10 00:00:00'}10/07/1989 R
Andorra Andorra {ts '1997-01-03 00:00:00'}03/01/1997 Ac
Armenia Armenia {ts '1993-09-05 00:00:00'}05/09/1993 S
Austria Austria {ts '1992-12-18 00:00:00'}18/12/1992 R
Azerbaijan Azerbaijan {ts '1993-12-16 00:00:00'}16/12/1993 R
Belarus Belarus {ts '1988-10-12 00:00:00'}12/10/1988 R
Belgium Belgium {ts '1996-07-24 00:00:00'}24/07/1996 R
Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina {ts '1993-07-12 00:00:00'}12/07/1993 S
Bulgaria Bulgaria {ts '1974-03-07 00:00:00'}07/03/1974 Ac
Canada Canada {ts '1976-07-23 00:00:00'}23/07/1976 Ac
Croatia Croatia {ts '1992-07-06 00:00:00'}06/07/1992 S
Cyprus Cyprus {ts '1975-08-14 00:00:00'}14/08/1975 Ac
Czech Republic Czech Republic {ts '1993-03-26 00:00:00'}26/03/1993 S
Denmark Denmark {ts '1979-07-25 00:00:00'}25/07/1979 R
Estonia Estonia {ts '1995-10-27 00:00:00'}27/10/1995 R
Finland Finland {ts '1987-03-04 00:00:00'}04/03/1987 R
France France {ts '1975-06-27 00:00:00'}27/06/1975 Ac
Georgia Georgia {ts '1992-11-04 00:00:00'}04/11/1992 S
Germany Germany 2 {ts '1976-08-23 00:00:00'}23/08/1976 R
Greece Greece {ts '1981-07-17 00:00:00'}17/07/1981 R
Holy See Holy See {ts '1982-10-07 00:00:00'}07/10/1982 A
Hungary Hungary {ts '1985-07-15 00:00:00'}15/07/1985 Ac
Iceland Iceland {ts '1995-12-19 00:00:00'}19/12/1995 R
Ireland Ireland {ts '1991-09-16 00:00:00'}16/09/1991 R
Israel Israel {ts '1999-10-06 00:00:00'}06/10/1999 Ac
Italy Italy {ts '1978-06-23 00:00:00'}23/06/1978 R
Latvia Latvia {ts '1995-01-10 00:00:00'}10/01/1995 Ac
Lithuania Lithuania {ts '1992-03-31 00:00:00'}31/03/1992 Ac
Luxembourg Luxembourg {ts '1983-09-28 00:00:00'}28/09/1983 R
Malta Malta {ts '1978-11-14 00:00:00'}14/11/1978 Ac
Monaco Monaco {ts '1978-11-07 00:00:00'}07/11/1978 R
Montenegro Montenegro {ts '2006-06-03 00:00:00'}03/06/2006 S
Netherlands Netherlands 3 {ts '1992-08-26 00:00:00'}26/08/1992 Ac
Norway Norway {ts '1977-05-12 00:00:00'}12/05/1977 R
Poland Poland {ts '1976-06-29 00:00:00'}29/06/1976 R
Portugal Portugal {ts '1980-09-30 00:00:00'}30/09/1980 R
Republic of Moldova Republic of Moldova {ts '2002-09-23 00:00:00'}23/09/2002 R
Romania Romania {ts '1990-05-16 00:00:00'}16/05/1990 Ac
Russian Federation Russian Federation 4 {ts '1988-10-12 00:00:00'}12/10/1988 R
San Marino San Marino {ts '1991-10-18 00:00:00'}18/10/1991 R
Serbia Serbia {ts '2001-09-11 00:00:00'}11/09/2001 S
Slovakia Slovakia {ts '1993-03-31 00:00:00'}31/03/1993 S
Slovenia Slovenia {ts '1992-11-05 00:00:00'}05/11/1992 S
Spain Spain {ts '1982-05-04 00:00:00'}04/05/1982 Ac
Sweden Sweden {ts '1985-01-22 00:00:00'}22/01/1985 R
Switzerland Switzerland {ts '1975-09-17 00:00:00'}17/09/1975 R
the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia {ts '1997-04-30 00:00:00'}30/04/1997 S
Turkey Turkey {ts '1983-03-16 00:00:00'}16/03/1983 R
Ukraine Ukraine {ts '1988-10-12 00:00:00'}12/10/1988 R
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland {ts '1984-05-29 00:00:00'}29/05/1984 R
United States of America United States of America {ts '1973-12-07 00:00:00'}07/12/1973 R

Date of deposit of ratification (R), acceptance (Ac), accession (A) or of the notification of succession (S)1


The symbol ** designates those States for whom, in accordance with Article 33, the Convention has not yet entered into force.

  1. This Convention entered into force on 17 December 1975. It subsequently entered into force for each State three months after the date of deposit of that State's instrument, except in cases of declarations of succession (indicated by the letter (S)), where the entry into force occurred on the date on which the State assumed responsibility for conducting its international relations.
  2. Through the accession of the German Democratic Republic to the Basic Law of the Federal Republic of Germany, with effect from 3 October 1990, the two German States have united to form one Sovereign State. The Contracting Parties to the Unification Treaty "have agreed that the treaties and agreements to which the Federal Republic of Germany is a contracting party ... remain in force and that their respective rights and obligations ... be applied" to the whole territory of Germany. The German Democratic Republic acceeded to this Convention on 12 December 1988.
  3. With an extension to Curaçao.
  4. The instrument of ratification was deposited by the U.S.S.R., on 12 October 1988.

States Parties are countries which have adhered to the World Heritage Convention.They thereby agree to identify and nominate properties on their national territory to be considered for inscription on the World Heritage List. When a State Party nominates a property, it gives details of how a property is protected and provides a management plan for its upkeep. States Parties are also expected to protect the World Heritage values of the properties inscribed and are encouraged to report periodically on their condition.