Sacred Titicaca Lake

Bolivie (État plurinational de)
Date de soumission : 01/07/2003
Catégorie : Mixte
Soumis par :
Viceministerio de Cultura, Ministerio de Desarrollo Económico Palacio Chico Potosí esq. Ayacuc
Coordonnées 15º14'-16º30' S / 68º27'-69º45' W
Ref.: 1817

Le Secrétariat de l’UNESCO et le Centre du patrimoine mondial ne garantissent pas l’exactitude et la fiabilité des avis, opinions, déclarations et autres informations ou documentations fournis au Secrétariat de l’UNESCO et au Centre du patrimoine mondial par les États Parties à la Convention concernant la protection du patrimoine mondial, culturel et naturel.

La publication de tels avis, opinions, déclarations, informations ou documentations sur le site internet et/ou dans les documents de travail du Centre du patrimoine mondial n’implique nullement l’expression d’une quelconque opinion de la part du Secrétariat de l’UNESCO ou du Centre du patrimoine mondial concernant le statut juridique de tout pays, territoire, ville ou région, ou de leurs autorités, ou le tracé de leurs frontières.

Les noms des biens figurent dans la langue dans laquelle les États parties les ont soumis.


Lake Titicaca is the biggest aquatic mass within the Southern Continent. It is also the highest navigable lake in the world. It has a surface of 8.400 km2, of which 3,690 km2 are on Bolivian territory. Its altitude is 3,810 meters above sea level. Several rivers, primarily born on the mountain range, nourish the lake. On the other hand, only one river drains the waters of this great lake into the Poopó Lake, the Desaguadero River. Lake Titicaca has various levels of depth, the maximum being 283 meters. The water is sweet, transparent and non-colored and is also good for drinking. Lake Titicaca is divided in two parts, divided by the Copacabana peninsula and that of Achacachi or Huata, forming this way the Tiquina Strait. The section to the North is called Great Lake or Chucuito and is six times as large as the other section, called Small Lake or Huiñaimarca. The main islands on the Bolivian side are the Island of the Sun and the Island of the Moon, or Coati. In Perú, the main islands are Taquile and Amantani. Several, very important archeological sites can be found along the Bolivian lake shores and those of the islands. These are: Pilcocaina on the Island of the Sun, the “monastery” or aqllawasi on the Island of the Moon, the Inca Gallows in Copacabana and many other sites like Taraco on the Small Lake. In terms of heritage sites from the colonial era, one can count sites such as Copacabana, with its great basilica, built between the 16th and 17th Centuries; the temple of Carabuco, famous for its mural paintings, as well as several other sites, representative of mestizo baroque or republican architecture in Bolivia.