Kaesong has been the capital of Koryo, the first unified state in the Korean history, since its foundation in 918, until 1392, when it was replaced by Li Dynasty. Kaesong continued to be a major administrative center during the Li Dynasty as well.
The city has been destroyed for several times during the wars, and yet retains the aspects of cultural development of Koryo period with its numerous historical relics.
Fortress walls stretched from Mt. Songak (the part of outer fortress encircling the city), ruins of the palace covering the space of 39,0000 square meters, old buildings such as Songgyungwan, the educational institution with the history of 1,000 years, unique dwelling houses peculiar to the business center--all these historical remains vividly show the old appearance of Kaesong city, harmonized with the modern buildings.
In the vicinity of the city, there are numerous royal tombs such as the Tomb of King Wanggon (the founder of the Koryo Dynasty) and the Tomb of King Kongmin (the 318t king).
At present, Kwanum Temple and Anhwa Temple remain in their original states among the innumerable temples built during the Koryo period. The pagoda and monument in Hyonhwa Temple and the pagoda in Pulil Temple exhibit the high level of plastic art reached by Koryo people.
A great number of valuable relics including the world-famous Koryo porcelains are often found in and around the city.