Paris - The 13th session of the General Assembly of the State Parties of the World Heritage Convention ended on the 31st October with the election of eight new members of the World Heritage Committee.

The following States Parties were elected:

  • Argentina
  • India
  • Lebanon
  • Nigeria
  • Oman
  • Russian Federation
  • Saint Lucia
  • United Kingdom


1 November 2001: Fifth Extraordinary session of the World Heritage Committee. UNESCO Headquarters, Paris, Room XII 10 a.m. to 12 a.m.

This session will be held to elect the members of the Bureau of the World Heritage Committee, consisting of the Chairperson of the Committee, the Rapporteur and five Vice-Chairpersons.