English Français

Decision : 27 COM 1
Opening Session

The World Heritage Committee,

1. In conformity with Rule 8 (Observers) of the Rules of Procedure of the Committee,

2. Accepts the presence of the following international governmental organizations (IGOs), international non-governmental organizations (INGOs), non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and individuals, who have requested Observer participation at the session:

    Mr Julian Laird, Earthwatch Institute, Europe;
    Ms Maria Isabel Correa Kanan, IPHAN, Brazil;
    Ms Jessica Douglas-Home and Mr Georges Zouain, The Mihai Emisecu Trust, U.K.;
    Mr Haruhisa Furuta and Mrs Mami Furuta, The Setouchi Research Institute, Japan;
    Mr Masanori Nagaoka, National Federation of UNESCO Associations in Japan (NFUAJ), Japan;
    Mr Daniel Slater, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia;
    Mr S. Jacob Scherr, Natural Resources Defense Council, United States of America;
    Mr Abdel Kader Bangoura, CEGEN, Conakry, Guinée;
    Dr Mzalendo Kibunjia, National Museums of Kenya, Kenya;
    Mr Stefan Benediktsson, Environmental Agency of Iceland, Iceland;
    Mr Tilman Zulch, International Society for Threatened Peoples, Germany;
    Mme Dominique Sewane (Independent expert), France;
    Mr Sergey Tsyplenkov, Mr Joost van Marrewijk and Mr Roman Pukalov, Greenpeace International, Russian Federation;
    Arch. Carla Maurano, International Centre for Mediterranean Cultural Landscapes, Italy; 
    Mr John O'Sullivan, BirdLife International, United Kingdom;
    Mr Jon Catton, Greater Yellowstone Coalition, United States of America;
    Ms Pamela de Maigret, The World Film Group, Canada;
    Ms Naoko Yokote, Tokyo Broadcasting System, Inc (TBS), Japan;
    Mr Naguib-Michel Sidhom and Ms Émiko Iinuma, Institut d'Orient, France;
    Mr Shuichi Koi, Society for Preserving the Nara Palace Site, Japan.

3. Approves the presence of all those invited by the Director-General of UNESCO in accordance with Rule 8.4 of the Rules of Procedure and as listed in Document WHC-03/27.COM/1, as well as Ms Melinda Kimble and Mr Ray Wanner, United Nations Foundation (invited by the Director, UNESCO World Heritage Centre).

The List of Participants is included as Annex I to this document.

Themes: Working methods and tools
Year: 2003
Decision Code: 27 COM 1